Bruce Springsteen to release studio album of classic soul music covers ‘Only the Strong Survive'

By Betty Cruise September 29, 2022
Bruce Springsteen to release cover songs in his new studio album

Bruce Springsteen has revealed the date he is going to release his new album of 15 soul music covers.

Titled Only The Strong Survive, the studio album consists of a classic set of the early 60s and ’70s specialty soul radio shows.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the album will feature soul songs from the catalogs of Motown and Stax Records, the songwriting duo of Gamble and Huff and more, and will be a modern spin on all the songs.

The album will also have guest vocals from Sam Moore, the E Street Horns, string arrangements by Rob Mathes and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins, and Fonzi Thornton.

In a statement, Bruce Springsteen said, "I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the ’60s and ’70s?"

He further said, "My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it."

Springsteen also revealed the names of the artists that he took inspiration from and that he has tried to do justice to them and all the writers who wrote the lyrics of the glorious music.

Songs from Springsteen's Only The Strong Survive:

  • 1. Only the Strong Survive
  • 2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
  • 3. Nightshift
  • 4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
  • 5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
  • 6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
  • 7. When She Was My Girl
  • 8. Hey, Western Union Man
  • 9. I Wish It Would Rain
  • 10. Don’t Play That Song
  • 11. Any Other Way
  • 12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
  • 13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
  • 14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
  • 15. Someday We’ll Be Together

The album release marks Springsteen's first studio album since Letter To You in 2020.

See Springsteen's announcement video below:

Watch 1965's Do I Love You cover music video below: